Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
No. Your jury duty obligation can be postponed (deferred) up to three times if you meet specific criteria. You must request to postpone your service prior to your current report date. To request a postponement, call 360-417-2231.
Show All Answers
The United States Constitution and the Washington State Constitution guarantee the right to trial by jury. Failure to attend as directed may subject you to penalties provided by state law. All Clallam County residents are obligated by state law to serve as a juror unless they:
No. There are no occupational or professional exemptions from this obligation of citizenship.
If you are requesting an exemption due to a medical condition, please contact the jury clerk at 360-417-2231 or email us. If your medical condition is a permanent condition that will not improve, you are required to submit a doctor's letter requesting you be exempted. The letter must request your exemption be permanent or you may be called again in the future.
Please consider the postponement option. To request a postponement, call 360-417-2231 or email us.
The compensation you receive for reporting as a prospective juror must be reported and deducted from your unemployment benefits. For more information, visit the Washington State Employment Security Division webpage.
You can postpone your jury service up to three times. You should make arrangements to postpone your service prior to the date for which you are currently summoned. Jury summonses are sent via bulk mail several months in advance.
All jurors must be at least 18 years of age. No citizen over 18 is excluded from consideration due to age. If your physician feels you are physically unable to perform the duties of a juror, please ask them to submit a letter to the court supporting an exemption.
Superior Court tries civil and criminal cases, both of which require juries. The random selection process prevents you from knowing in advance what trial or even what type of trial you will be selected for. Jury Service staff cannot excuse you as a potential juror because of what you do for a living, your family makeup, or events in your past.
State law does not currently require employers to continue paying the salary of employees while they are serving as jurors. However, many employers, including state and local government agencies, have a policy that compensates employees for at least part, if not all, of the time spent for jury service.
Current law makes no provision for volunteer jurors. The court relies on a process that assures a random selection from the entire county. This means that some will be called often and some citizens will never be summonsed. If you have served in the past year (12 months) Clallam County Superior Court is happy to excuse you from your current summons.
Yes. Jurors currently earn $10 per day of service. If you drive to the courthouse and park, you will be given a mileage allowance as well.
If you have reported for jury duty in Superior Court within the past 12 months, we are happy to excuse you from your current summons.
If you have lost your Clallam County Superior Court summons, please contact the Jury Clerk at 360-417-2231 or email us using the "Email Us" button above to request a new one.
Yes, you are welcome to bring reading material for use during non-court time.