Application for Concealed Pistol License
Note: If you are applying for an original application or if your license is more than 90 days past the expiration date, the law requires a new set of fingerprints at the time of application. A face covering is required for any service that requires fingerprinting.
- You must be a minimum of 21 years of age.
- Live in Clallam County.
- Have fingerprints taken upon application (done at Sheriff's Office) for an original Concealed Pistol License.
- Pay the appropriate fee (shown below)
You must apply in person at:
- Clallam County Sheriff's Office
Clallam County Courthouse
223 E 4th Street, Suite 12,
Port Angeles, WA 98362
This is the only location currently accepting applications for county residents.
- Applications are available Monday through Friday from 8 am to 4:30 pm or online below.
There are two methods of applying:
- Download, print, fill out and bring your Concealed Pistol License Application (PDF) to the Sheriff's office.
- Pickup an application in person at the Sheriff's Office and fill it out in person.
If you are eligible, your license will be mailed to you within 4 to 6 weeks. If you are ineligible, your application will be denied and you will be notified by letter. Fees are non-refundable.
The license is valid for 5 years from the date of issue. The license is good in the State of Washington only. Other states have their own gun laws.
- An original license is valid for 5 years from the date of issue.
- The fee is $49.25 (including fingerprints) which is non-refundable.
- A license should be renewed in a timely manner, up to 90 days prior to the expiration date of the license.
- The fee is $32 which is non-refundable.
- The expiration date on the new license will be 5 years from the expiration date of the previous license.
- The day after the license expires, the license becomes a late renewal. There is no grace period. If the license is expired over 90 days, an original license will be issued.
- If the license is expired more than 90 days, you must apply for an original license.
- The fee for late renewal is $42, which is non-refundable.
- The expiration date on the new license will be 5 years from the expiration date on the previous license.
- If your license has been lost or destroyed, you can apply for a replacement license.
- The fee for a replacement license is $10 which is non-refundable.
- The expiration date for the replaced license is the same expiration date as on the license being replaced.
Note to license holder: Whenever carrying a concealed pistol, the license must be carried and exhibited to any Peace Officer upon demand.
Brief Summary of Firearm Law
Both state and federal laws govern the use of firearms. Here in Washington, most state firearms laws are found in the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) Chapter 9.41, while many federal laws and regulations are listed in the United States Code. Although these two legal reference sources are informative, they are not all-inclusive and additional firearms restrictions may apply in some cases.
One familiar example of additional firearms restrictions is in airports, where the Federal Aviation Administration prohibits carrying firearms in certain restricted areas on or about a person or accessible property (such as carry-on luggage). No private citizen, not even with a valid concealed pistol license, is exempt from this special restriction. Cities, counties, and municipalities in Washington are prohibited from enacting firearms laws and ordinances unless such ordinances are specifically authorized by state law. For example, while you may be legally entitled to own a handgun and carry it with a concealed pistol permit, you may be prevented by county or municipal regulations from discharging that firearm for target practice in certain areas. Just as with firearms safety, it is your responsibility as a firearms owner to know applicable firearms laws and regulations. Although we cannot possibly list all firearms laws and regulations, the ones below are of general interest to all firearms owners.
Carrying handguns: Generally speaking, state law requires that you have a valid concealed pistol license before you can carry a handgun concealed on your person. However, the law does provide a number of exceptions, including RCW 9.41.060 and 9.41.050. Persons on hunting, fishing or camping trips. Persons carrying pistols unloaded and secure wrappers.
Use or possession of firearms by minors: There are certain restrictions that apply to minors buying, owning, and possessing pistols or shotguns and rifles. These restrictions can be found in RCW 9.41.042, 9.41.240, and Chapter 44, Title 18, US Code.
Carrying firearms in restricted areas: Firearms may not be carried by individuals in any of the following places:
- Restricted areas of the jail
- Jury Rooms or Judge's Chambers
- Public Mental Health Facilities
- Bars or Cocktail Lounges
Shooting from public highways: It is a misdemeanor to aim any firearm, whether loaded or not, at or toward any human being. It is also against the law to discharge a firearm in a place where any person might be endangered thereby. (RCW 9.41.230).
Aliens must be licensed: Anyone who is not a citizen of the United States (or who has not declared his intention to become a citizen) is prevented from carrying or possessing any firearm without first obtaining an alien firearm license from the Director of Licensing. (RCW 9.41.170).
Loaded firearms in vehicles: You must have a license to carry or place a loaded pistol in a vehicle.
Pistols must be on the licensee's person, or the licensee is within the vehicle at all times that the pistol is there. If the licensee is within the vehicle at all times that the pistol is there. If the licensee is away from the vehicle, the pistol must be locked within the vehicle and concealed from view from outside the vehicle (RCW 6.41.050).
Shotguns/Rifles in or on motor vehicles must be unloaded. This means no shells or cartridges in the chamber or magazine. (RCW 77.16.250).
Unlawful possession of firearms: Certain persons are prevented by state and/or federal law from possessing firearms. Among those prohibited are persons who are drug addicts, habitual drunkards, persons of unsound mind, persons convicted in this state or elsewhere of any felony, serious offense, crime of violence, or certain offenses involving domestic violence. Unlawful possession of a firearm is a felony. (RCW Chapter 9.41).
Ten Commandments of Gun Safety
- Treat every gun as if it were loaded.
- Always keep the gun pointed in a safe direction.
- Be sure that the barrel and action are clear of obstructions.
- Know your target and backstop before you pull the trigger.
- Unload firearms when not in use.
- Never point a gun at anything you do not want to shoot.
- Never shoot a bullet at a flat, hard surface or water.
- Store guns and ammunition separately, beyond the reach of children.
- Know your firearm's required ammunition. Read your instruction manual.
- Avoid alcoholic beverages and drugs before or while handling firearms.
By no means are these the only safety rules to follow when handling firearms. Other common-sense rules should always be followed. The bottom line: You should be fully capable of handling your firearm in a safe and proper manner at all times. If you are in doubt or have any questions, ask your firearms dealers, a local Hunter Education Instructor or another knowledgeable person for assistance.