Watershed Planning

Watershed Planning under ESHB 2514 (RCW 90.82)

Across Washington State: Washington State Department of Ecology

WRIA= Water Resources Inventory Area (state designation for watershed or drainage basin)

WRIA 18: Elwha-Dungeness

The Elwha-Dungeness / WRIA 18 Watershed Plan was adopted (as amended) by the Clallam County Board of Commissioners in the spring of 2005, after 8 months of public hearings, outreach, and amendment. The Plan was originally developed separately for the east and west halves of the WRIA. In the east half, the Dungeness River Management Team ("DRMT") meets monthly on the second Wednesday (see link below). In the west half, the Elwha-Morse Management Team ("EMMT") met twice monthly until plan approval. The "initiating governments" (as defined in the legislation) met monthly to discuss WRIA-wide issues. Clallam County was the lead agency administering grants from Ecology.

WRIA 18 Initiating Governments

WRIA 18 Initiating Governments include Clallam County, City of Port Angeles, Elwha Klallam Tribe, Jamestown S'Klallam Tribe, and the Agnew Irrigation District. 

WRIA 17: Quilcene-Snow

The WRIA 17 planning area includes Sequim Bay and Miller Peninsula portions of Clallam County. These areas have been incorporated into the planning area for DRMT in WRIA- 18.

WRIA 19: Lyre-Hoko

WRIA19 Draft Lyre-Hoko Watershed Plan and Meeting Agendas

WRIA 20: Sol Duc-Hoh

The planning unit approved the final watershed plan in late August 2008. After Board of Commissioner hearings in Clallam and Jefferson county, commissioners from the two counties held a joint meeting in WRIA 20 on November 5, at which they formally adopted the plan.

As they move into Phase 4, the planning unit is formally reforming as the "implementing body" described in their watershed plan, conducting outreach to increase citizen participation, and developing an approach to Detailed Implementation Plan development.